Not too shabby for a point-n-shoot, huh?

10 08 2011

Yesterday Michael and I took our guests out for their first vineyard/wine tasting experience and to see the Blue Ridge Mountains. Since I don’t drink, I wandered around the three different vineyards looking for things to photograph with my “baby camera,” the Nikon Coolpix L110. It has macro capabilities and this is really the first time I’ve used that feature since I bought it last year. I like to carry a small point-n-shoot in my purse at all times, and this is my fourth one—and by far my favorite. The Nikon Coolpix L110 has 12.1 megapixels, 15x optical zoom-Nikkor glass lens, 3 inch display, VR image stabilization, motion detection, 720p HD video recording with stereo sound, and can shoot up to 6400 ISO. The macro function gets you as close as 0.4 inches!

While Michael, Sean and Anna tasted wines, I stalked this Great Spangled Fritillary (Speryeria cybele) on the patio at Gadino Cellars in Rappahannock County, VA. The critter was quite focused on the task at hand, so I was able to get several decent shots using the macro function (and without a tripod, I still got a sharp image). I also recorded a short video of it with the camera (it won’t win any documentary awards, unfortunately), but it does show that with this little camera you get quite a lot of bang for your buck (under $300). I recommend it if you’re looking for something small that also has video capability—and the macro feature is pretty amazing, too!

UPDATE: My Hearing Loss Magazine editor, Barbara Kelley, was looking for a point-n-shoot recommendation and says the Nikon Coolpix L110 has been discontinued and is now replaced by the L120, which is 14.1 megapixels and has a longer zoom (21x). It’s available for about the same price ($279 at Target and on amazon.com).

© Cindy Dyer. All rights reserved.

Actions

Information

4 responses

10 08 2011
mewithmycamera

great shot…..i think i may have to check this camera out myself

10 08 2011
Randy Emmitt

Cindy,
Very nice image. Question on this camera is does it have a flip out screen? My Canon G11 has one it is awesome, but $200 more than you paid for that camera.

10 08 2011
dhphotosite

Not too shabby indeed !!

12 08 2011
Kaitlyn Yeager

Oh wow, that’s a gorgeous photo! I can’t afford an SLR right now, but I just upgraded my regular point and shoot to a FujiFilm Finepix T190, which has a decent-for-a-point-and-shoot macro setting, and have been running wild on it 🙂

Leave a Reply

