American Pelecinid Wasp (Pelecinus polyturator)

31 08 2011

I photographed this insect on the side of my friend Mary Ellen’s house in Minong, Wisconsin last week. My immediate thought was that it was some kind of wasp, but I hadn’t seen anything like it before. Good guess, though, since my hunch was confirmed with a visit to my favorite bug ID site, www.whatsthatbug.com.The perfectionist in me would loved to have photographed this creature on a leaf, of course.

Learn more about this insect (docile and harmless to humans; but to other bugs—not so much!) on the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee’s Field Station website here.

© Cindy Dyer. All rights reserved.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

