The elusive Snowberry Clearwing Hummingbird Moth (Hemaris diffinis)

3 09 2011

I photographed this type of moth in my own garden years ago (here), and the image was what I call a “record shot,” just like this one is. A “record shot” won’t win any prizes—it is simply captured to record its existence and uniqueness, no matter the technical quality or stellar composition.

I wanted to share this shot anyway, since this creature is so elusive, very quick and hard to photograph. I photographed this Snowberry Clearwing Hummingbird Moth (Hemaris diffinis) frantically feasting on the blooms of a ‘Franz Schubert’ Phlox (Phlox paniculata) at the Spooner Agricultural Research Station in Spooner, Wisconsin.

© Cindy Dyer. All rights reserved.

Actions

Information

4 responses

4 09 2011
Scott

I’ve been hoping to see one of these for a while … Little did I know that my “record shot” of one 3 years ago would be my last for some time. Thanks for posting!

11 09 2011
cindydyer

Hi Scott, thanks for the comment. I’ve only photographed them twice in the last five years. The first time, I didn’t even know what it was. And boy, are they FAST (just like hummingbirds!). Do you have your record shot of one on your blog somewhere? I’d love to see it!

12 09 2011
Scott

Yes, I do. In fact, my whole blog is just a kind of “record” of what we can find along Little Crum Creek in southeastern PA:
http://littlecrumcreek.wordpress.com/2011/09/01/snowberry-clearwing/

I look to blogs like yours to see the kinds of great images that a skilled photographer can capture!

5 09 2011
Watching Seasons

Very neat creatures!

Leave a Reply

