Flowers in February?

7 02 2012

This afternoon I made a quick trip over to Green Spring Gardens to meet with one of the horticulturists to verify that I have all of my plant IDs correct (thanks for your assistance, Mary!). From my short walk through the parking lot to the Horticulture Center, I saw a few Daffodils (Narcissus), several clusters of Snowdrops (Galanthus) and a few types of Crocus (I think these are Snow Crocus).

I know it’s only February 6 and Punxsutawney Phil did ‘predict’ six more weeks of “winter” last week, but I didn’t see much in the way of that season today at Green Spring Gardens! Not expecting to find anything to photograph, I didn’t bring my “big girl” camera, but I happened to have my Nikon Coolpix L110 in my bag and got a few shots of this flower cluster. The sight of flowers, however sparse, banished my SAD immediately!

© Cindy Dyer. All rights reserved.

Actions

Information

3 responses

7 02 2012
Lula (onbotanicalphotography.blogspot.com)

It is really great to have a “pocket camera” at hand! Nice colorful shot!

7 02 2012
cindydyer

Thanks, Lula. Long time no see. I hope you’re doing well!

14 02 2012
Huffygirl

A breathtaking study in white!

Leave a Reply

