I will name him George, and I will hug him, and pet him, and squeeze him.

22 09 2012

Remember that line? In “The Abominable Snow Rabbit” (1961), the abominable snowman grabs Bugs Bunny and Daffy Duck saying, “I will name him George, and I will hug him, and pet him, and squeeze him” with Mel Blanc doing an unmistakable imitation of Lon Chaney, Jr.‘s Lennie. This material was re-used in “Spaced Out Bunny” (1980), the last Warner Bros. cartoon in which Bugs Bunny was voiced by Mel Blanc.

This rather handsome critter is actually called a Handsome Meadow Katydid (Orchelimum pulchellum). I put down my camera bag at Huntley Meadows Park and he hopped onto the side and I got this shot! My photo partner, Michael Powell, has some really great shots that he made at Huntley Meadows Park last month here and here.

© Cindy Dyer. All rights reserved.

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

23 09 2012
Denise

He’s an absolute beauty!

1 10 2012
cindydyer

Thanks, Denise!

Leave a Reply

